Antici…..pation: August 2014

Our apologies. We went absent without comment last month, but we’re re-focusing this month. And what better way to do so than to start with our August anticipation?

Cover artwork for I Love I Hate I Miss My SisterTitle: I Love I Hate I Miss My Sister

Author: Amelie Sarn, translated by Y. Maudet

Publisher & Release Date: Delacorte Press, Aug. 5

The Hook: “Eighteen-year-old Sohane loves no one more than her beautiful, carefree younger sister, Djelila. And she hates no one as much. The two have always shared everything. But now, Djelila is embracing her life as a secular teen, and Sohane is becoming more religious.

“Every choice has a price.

“When Sohane starts wearing a head scarf, her school insists that she remove it or she’ll be expelled. Meanwhile, Djelila is repeatedly harassed by neighborhood bullies for not following Muslim customs. Sohane can’t help thinking that Djelila deserves what she gets. She never could have imagined just how far things would go.

“I love I hate I miss my sister.

“In the year following Djelila’s tragic death, Sohane struggles with her feelings of loss and guilt, revealing a complex relationship between two sisters, each girl’s path to self-discovery, and the consequences they face for being true to themselves.”

Cover artwork for Some BoysTitle: Some Boys

Author: Patty Blount

Publisher & Release Date: Sourcebooks Fire, Aug. 5

The Hook: “When Grace meets Ian she’s afraid. Afraid he’ll reject her like the rest of the school, like her own family. After accusing the town golden boy of rape, everyone turned against Grace. They call her a slut and a liar. But…Ian doesn’t. He’s funny and kind with secrets of his own.

“But how do you trust the best friend of the boy who raped you? How do you believe in love?”

Cover artwork for Of Metal and WishesTitle: Of Metal and Wishes

Author: Sarah Fine

Publisher & Release Date: Margaret K. McElderry Books, Aug, 5

The Hook: “Sixteen-year-old Wen assists her father in his medical clinic, housed in a slaughterhouse staffed by the Noor, men hired as cheap factory labor. Wen often hears the whisper of a ghost in the slaughterhouse, a ghost who grants wishes to those who need them most. And after one of the Noor humiliates Wen, the ghost grants an impulsive wish of hers—brutally.

Guilt-ridden, Wen befriends the Noor, including the outspoken leader, a young man named Melik. At the same time, she is lured by the mystery of the ghost. As deadly accidents fuel tensions within the factory, Wen is torn between her growing feelings for Melik, who is enraged at the sadistic factory bosses and the prejudice faced by his people at the hand of Wen’s, and her need to appease the ghost, who is determined to protect her against any threat—real or imagined. Will she determine whom to trust before the factory explodes, taking her down with it?”

Cover artwork for The Unfinished Life of Addison StoneTitle: The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone: A Novel

Author: Adele Griffin

Publisher & Release Date: Soho Teen, Aug. 12

The Hook: “For fans of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Girl, Interrupted, and A.S. King, National Book Award-finalist Adele Griffin tells the fully illustrated story of a brilliant young artist, her mysterious death, and the fandom that won’t let her go.

“From the moment she stepped foot in NYC, Addison Stone’s subversive street art made her someone to watch, and her violent drowning left her fans and critics craving to know more. I conducted interviews with those who knew her best—including close friends, family, teachers, mentors, art dealers, boyfriends, and critics—and retraced the tumultuous path of Addison’s life. I hope I can shed new light on what really happened the night of July 28.
—Adele Griffin”

Cove artwork for Greenglass HouseTitle: Greenglass House

Author: Kate Milford, illustrated by Jaime Zollars

Publisher & Release Date: Clarion Books, Aug. 26

The Hook: “A rambling old inn, a strange map, an attic packed with treasures, squabbling guests, theft, friendship, and an unusual haunting mark this smart middle grade mystery in the tradition of the Mysterious Benedict Society books and The Westing Game.

“It’s wintertime at Greenglass House. The creaky smuggler’s inn is always quiet during this season, and twelve-year-old Milo, the innkeepers’ adopted son, plans to spend his holidays relaxing. But on the first icy night of vacation, out of nowhere, the guest bell rings. Then rings again. And again. Soon Milo’s home is bursting with odd, secretive guests, each one bearing a strange story that is somehow connected to the rambling old house. As objects go missing and tempers flare, Milo and Meddy, the cook’s daughter, must decipher clues and untangle the web of deepening mysteries to discover the truth about Greenglass House-and themselves.”

Cover artwork for Six Feet Over ItTitle: Six Feet Over It

Author: Jennifer Longo

Publisher & Release Date: Random House Books for Young Readers, Aug. 26

The Hook:”Leigh sells graves for her family-owned cemetery because her father is too lazy to look farther than the dinner table when searching for employees. Working the literal graveyard shift, she meets two kinds of customers:

“Pre-Need: They know what’s up. They bought their graves a long time ago, before they needed them.

“At Need: They are in shock, mourning a loved one’s unexpected death. Leigh avoids sponging their agony by focusing on things like guessing the headstone choice (mostly granite).

“Sarcastic and smart, Leigh should be able to stand up to her family and quit. But her world’s been turned upside down by the sudden loss of her best friend and the appearance of Dario, the slightly-too-old-for-her grave digger. Surrounded by death, can Leigh move on, if moving on means it’s time to get a life?”

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s